Club Dinner & Presentation Evening

Ashfield R.C. welcomed former track cyclist Adrian Adgar as guest of honour for the 2015 Dinner & Presentation Evening.

Arthur dances with the young ladies circa 1746.

This year’s presentation evening went off with a bang last Saturday, with Master of Ceremonies Phil D. taking center stage with guest of honour Adrian Adgar to celebrate the club’s successes and award those special riders who have achieved something special this year.

Before I go into detail about the various awards and this year’s winners; I feel I must say a few words about you. For the most part; it is not those few riders who have distinguished themselves in any given field; it is the unsung majority of any club that achieve the most. Whether that be alone such as setting your 10 mile PB, or shared with friends and club mates by completing that epic sportive or trying out Cyclo-Cross down the woods. You play as big a part in the success of this club than any one person named on an award; and the evening as a whole is dedicated to celebrating you and how you make Ashfield R.C. a truly special club!

In the Medals

With such a broad range of talent and active riders; it’s always difficult to single out anyone to win one of our awards. This year our extra special people are:

  • Cyclo-Cross Champion – Ian “The Racing Snake” Drake – For absolutely bossing the Notts & Derby League.
  • Hill Climb Champion –  Richard Bellamy – For giving all other club mates a sound thrashing and being the fastest Team Green rider in the Chris Storer hill climb.
  • Most Impoved Rider – Phil “The Power” Heath – For going from club newbie last February, to trouncing the opposition for Team Green in all manner of Road Races.
  • School Boy (Young Rider) – Jonah Drake – Following in Ian’s footsteps and thrashing the Junior competition in the Notts & Derby League.
  • Senior Road Trophy – Lewis Tarna-Wilson – Taking things up a level (literally) and racing his legs off to get his 2nd Cat License.
  • Clubman Award – Sam Wainwright – For filling this website full to bursting with the most outrageous hyperbole you can imagine.
  • Sportsman Award – Myles Tarnai-Wilson – For helping out at the club’s Darley Moor race series; and leading regular C Group rides through the year.
  • Poseur of the Year – Dan Lidgett – For being Mr. Stylish and buying most of the Castelli 2014 catalogue.

[fbalbum url=]

[fbalbum url=]